Getting Away With it

I made a somewhat distasteful joke over lunch today at work and nobody pulled me up on it. My colleague then commented that because I was pregnant I got away with it. I pondered this and realised it is a bit true. You can get away with things more when you are ‘with child’. Eating the last biscuit, making social faux pas, not helping with anything vaguely physical, being a bit snappy, the list goes on. I intend to enjoy it while it lasts. I wonder whether it’s because people perceive you as weak and vulnerable when pregnant, and therefore treat you a bit like a child – or whether they just think: “this chick has a world of pain ahead of her, so I’m gonna give her this one”.

Leave a Reply

